Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Satoshi Manor: Chapter 5

Outside the House: Up and Down the Mountain (Tenguyama in Otaru)

Work on the house has been non-stop, but perhaps it’s not as visually appealing as installing a new toilet or tearing down some old walls. Mostly just cleaning, cutting weeds, trying to figure out where old smells come from, and the process of getting rid of junk and figuring out what is useful to keep instead of getting rid of it.

Vagobond Media Community is reader-supported. To receive new posts and support the community and my continued efforts on Satoshi Manor, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

I’ve gotten rid of a fair bit and the shed is slightly less crammed than it was previously. I’m figuring out how to sort trash and dispose of it properly - though I’m sure I’m still not doing it 100% right. I’m grateful the house didn’t come completely empty - it had a wide range of stuff that at first- in my rush to get the mold and mildew smell out, I was quick to label as junk - but there was also quite a few interesting or useful things that saved me having to purchase new ones.

The sofa - sort of stinky and hard to get rid of, so I’m doing the best I can with it. The table and chairs, very useful. The coffee table - useful if ugly. All of this furniture reminds me of the furniture in the roommate houses I lived in during my twenties. It was rare that anyone knew the origin of a chest of drawers or a sofa or a table - they had just always been there through many roommates. In any event, there is plenty of stuff like that - dishes and pans and buckets and even some useful cleaning products.

Also, I’m incredibly grateful that even though the stove, the boiler, and the furnace had to be replaced - the refrigerator, the washing machine, the toilet, and the shower all work. Are they old and need upgrading - you bet - but not yet.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this weeks compilation of some excursions nearby from Satoshi Manor. Perhaps in the next video I will share some of the things I’ve found useful and some of the things I had to buy - from Amazon and other places.

As always, if you read this and you come to Hokkaido, look me up. I might even be able to offer you the guest bed but I’ll probably put you to work!

Discussion about this podcast

Vagobond Media Community
Vagobond Media Podcasts
Welcome to VM Podcasts
Our regular shows are
1) VM-GM (Vagobond Media, Good Morning) which takes place on X (Twitter) @vagobond_mag
2) The Web3 Writer's Hour which takes place on X (Twitter) @vagobond_mag
We also have a number of Bonus episodes that include interviews and spaces about Web3 gaming, Web3 Writers, Mindfulness, Literature, and Decentralized Philosophy.